University Students Participate in Innovation Competition

Friday, February 7, 2014

The Grant County Economic Growth Council celebrates its eighth annual I-69 Collegiate Innovation Challenge on February 14-16 with twenty students from Anderson University, Huntington University, Indiana Wesleyan University, and Taylor University. The Challenge will take place at the Swan Lake Resort in Plymouth, Indiana.   

Each team of four consists of one student from each participating school; the students will be placed into teams Friday afternoon based on the Basadur Creative Profile, a problem-solving assessment, and will collaborate for less than 24-hours on a for-profit business solution to a current economic problem within Indiana. Saturday afternoon, teams will present their solution to a panel of designated judges. Following the presentations, the winning team will be selected upon: innovation, profitability, and market potential.  

The Grant County Economic Growth Council developed this challenge eight years ago to encourage entrepreneurship and innovative discussion among students along the I-69 stretch. The I-69 Challenge creates networking and collaboration opportunities for the students, judges, and personnel involved.

The Growth Council looks forward to celebrating another year of innovative students and plans to continue celebrating far into the future with the help of several dedicated and generous sponsors: Anderson University, Duke Energy, Grant County Economic Growth Council, Huntington University, Indiana Michigan Power, Indiana Municipal Power Agency, Indiana Wesleyan University, Taylor University, Vectren, and Wal-Mart.

Each member of the winning team will receive an iPad air and Smart Cover. Second place team winners will receive a $100 Visa Gift Card and each member of the third place team will receive a $50 Visa Gift Card.

Anderson: Ellie Fink, Allison Boyle, Dalton Cox, Brad Rusche, Chelsa’ Lee

Huntington: Jacob Stone, Isaiah Stephenson, Sam Thompson, Brittany Rooze, Alivia Walker

Indiana Wesleyan Univ: Susan Parrish, Alexandra Ackley-Morse, Brittany Hartwiger, Beth Sheaffer, Luke Singer

Taylor Univ: Valerie Schiller, Nathaniel Read, Alex Mantay, Meghann Bowman, Carlos Guarin